Rival to Kindle Emerges Just in Time for Holiday Shopping

October 23, 2009 at 2:13 pm (Uncategorized)

barnes-nobles-nook-ebook-reader

Barnes and Noble will be releasing Nook, its version of the Amazon Kindle, just in time for the holiday shopping season. The Nook promises to have all of the same general features as the Kindle, but will also become more iPod and iPhone user friendly by enabling touch-screen control. It looks like a really cool new tablet, but I wonder what Amazon is going to do to keep its Kindle sales up.

The only sizeable difference that I can seem to find between the two is that the Kindle has an international option that allows frequent travelers to read overseas. But the Nook will offer Wi-Fi capabilities, as well as free Wi-Fi in all Barnes and Noble stores. A product comparison can be found at the following link: http://tinyurl.com/yh92wj8.

This has to pose a huge problem for the PR people at Amazon. What are you supposed to do when another company comes out with basically the same product as yours, and matches the features you have and out-does some of the features by having touch screen? It’s not like Kindle will be coming out with a new model any time soon either: they just released their newest version (the one with the international capabilities) recently.

I personally think that iPhone, iPod, and Blackberry users will buy the Nook:

1) Because service is provided by AT&T

2) The Nook is capable of syncing with these devices, as well as PC and Mac computers.

Not to mention people who don’t like handling all of their problems online will be able to go into a Barnes and Noble if they have issues.

I’m interested to see the ad campaign war between these two companies come Thanksgiving and Christmas time. Who do you think will have better sales?

9 Comments

  1. Claudine said,

    Does look like a pretty cool device… I bought my dad a Kindle over the summer and while it’s cool it still lacks the aesthetics to make it REALLY cool. I think that the Nook will do well- especially with the touch screen technology, it seems to be where everything is advancing these days and I caught myself trying to tap the screen with the Kindle a couple of times.

    As far as the PR part goes– I’m sure Amazon will keep marketing themselves and the “whisper net” they use… kind of similar to the battle that AT&T and Verizon are in right now with poking fun at each others ads.

    I’d take one for Christmas!!

  2. rebeckalinn said,

    The touch screen is really awesome and is basicaly what will set the Nook apart. I’m guessing since its “just like the kindle” that means it does not have a backlit screen like most computers, which tires the eyes faster.

    I think its neat and all, but I’m just going to stick with my Kindle. I got it for Christmas last year from my parents, and I totally love it!

  3. Sarah said,

    This sure is going to be some definite competition for Kindle. Consumers always want to have the new up-to-date technology that keeps them in the circle and the Nook achieves this standard. Touch screen and small are two key elements needed to be successful. Both which the Nook have and the Kindle does not. I would definitely like to see what Amazon comes up with to keeo the Kindle alive and launching right before the Holidays? Always a smart move.

  4. Katie Dean said,

    I had never even heard of a Kindle before taking this class, but I can definitely see its uses. If I were to compare the products on the site you suggested, I would probably be more interested in purchasing the Nook as well. As for what Amazon should do, perhaps there is some way they can snazz up their product by adding another downloadable feature. Or they might could even get on talk shows in the mornings and feature both products being used and have hosts talk through the pros and cons of learning a whole new device. This would be risky on some level, but could have great benefits.

  5. mmtramm said,

    Kindle’s PR Team better have something huge up their sleeve. The Nook looks awesome and I’m not even a huge electronics person. I mean lets be honest I still have the silver flip phone from verizon. Looking at the Nook though made me want to start my Christmas list. I think Kindle’s PR team needs to come up with something like the cow or the gekeo to grab people’s attention and make them think Kindle. I hope they have a creative PR staff because they are going to have to come up with something big to beat out sales of the Nook this Christmas. I’m going to be looking out for these sales comparisions during Christmas. It will be very interesting to see the results.

  6. PRbrainfood said,

    Great comments everyone and nice post. I think Barnes and Noble is really smart releasing the Nook now. Especially since Barnes and Noble has physical retail space and they can capitalize on the Christmas shopping traffic with in-store displays.

  7. Katie Cahill said,

    I don’t know if you mentioned it or not, but the Nook is exactly the same price as Kindle, $259. I thought that was interesting, and really quite devious of Barnes & Noble. The Nook does look cool, and one cool feature I found is that the Nook has a “LendMe” feature, meaning you can loan a book you bought on your Nook to a friend–even if they don’t own a Nook. I find this awesome, for some reason. Th only thing the Kindle has over the Nook, it sounds like, is book selection. And that really quite important when you think about it. But there’s time for the Nook to grow! Read more about the interesting features of the Nook, like how it can apparently go 10 days on a single charge (wow), at http://mashable.com/2009/10/20/nook-official/

  8. Chris Cary said,

    I’m rather glad that the Nook came out, if simply for the fact that there is competition in the e-Reader space. At first there were Sony e-Readers, which were pathetic…but they could be because they were the only brand in that market. Then came Amazon, which was better but charged a lot for a unit with limited capabilities…and then released another with no warning, forcing many who wanted the features of the second and had just bought the first to buy another. Now, the Nook blows the Kindle out of the water and I couldn’t be happier because it forces all in the market sector to do better, avoiding the feature lag of the iPod for nearly a decade, where I believe Apple withheld features to ensure constant buys of their iPod family every year upon a new release of one or two new capabilities.

    It’s electronic competition, and it’s always good in the eSector, for it forces producers to innovate and stay ahead…which in turn benefits the consumer.

  9. Morgan Ingram said,

    I am all about some Nook. It just looks cooler to me. Who needs all those little buttons on the front the Kindle anyways? Not cute. I want to know how much these little babies are going for. An I wonder if Amazon is selling them on their site. It will be interesting to see how they pose the sales for Nooks on the site if they are in fact selling them. And really, I do NOT feel sorry for Amazon. I want to buy a Zhu Zhu Pet originally priced at $7.99 and Amazone has those things jacked up to like $40! What they hey!!

Leave a Reply

